A LITTLE SCATTERED…

The last few weeks I’ve been a little craft scattered, with a really bad case of start itis.  It started with my decision to do a Crochet By Numbers project.  I had been coveting the idea of a picture of myself as a kid to hang in my craft room, and finally decided to just do it.  I sent my picture to Todd, and in less than two days had my design.  I chose purples, of course, and got started.   Click the flickr link to see photos of my progression

I was really excited, and crocheting away, for about a week then BAM!  I lost my motivation to keep working on it.

My problem was I kept looking at the beautiful “BMFA” Waffle Weave scarf that was still on the loom waiting to be completed.  So, I broke down and made myself finish it.  And I am so glad I did!   The Raven and Spirits colorways look really good together.  And the Black/Blue “Haida” really pops and is so vibrant in the sunlight.  I am really happy with my choices on this one.

During all this I remembered the BFL/silk fiber I bought a few weeks ago, thanks to Beth at The Spinning Loft, and decided I HAD to have some of it.  I actually had to have a pound of it to be exact.  It’s so luxurious!  And I’m so glad I bought it.   And it’s going to make a beautiful warp for the name draft shawl I want to make for myself sometime soon.  I was only able to spin part of a bobbin before I got distracted though.

Enter the distraction, “Twill Blocks” from Handwoven magazine, Sept/Oct 2009.  I fell in love with this cover project the moment the issue of Handwoven hit my mailbox.  And I knew I had to make one for myself.  So, after months of debating what fiber to use and in what color, I decided on a great red and black 3ply wool.  And from the start I loved it. Unfortunately, it didn’t completely hold my interest either.  But after jumping back and forth between projects, which also includes a pair of Jaywalker socks out of Wollmeise.  I finally finished it a couple of days ago.  And I’m so glad I did.  I love it, and I think my sister will too.  I decided that it was perfect for her while I was making it.  

During all of my flip flopping, and my horrendous case of startitis, I also started a Color Theory weaving class.  I’m hoping this will help me gain some confidence and daring in my color choices.  It took me two and a half weeks, but I finally got all 19 colors warped, and the loom is now dressed.   This week I got almost half of the weaving done.  But I forgot to bring my camera to take pictures.  I’m hoping to get to the store this weekend to maybe get at least two or three more colors sections done.

I’ve discovered something about myself the last few weeks.  I must have several projects going at the same time, or I loose my crafting mojo all together.  So it’s back to work I go.  This weekends distraction is a woven black lace bamboo shawl for my mom.

Wish me luck!  I think I’m going to need it.

One Response to “A LITTLE SCATTERED…”

  1. All of your projects look wonderful. Oh how I wish I could weave.

Leave a Reply

