WHAT CAN GO WRONG GENERALLY WILL!!!

Did you ever have a day when Murphy’s Law pulled up a chair, sat down and wouldn’t leave?  Well that’s the kind of day I had yesterday and today.

The Waffle Weave towel warp has been kicking my butt since day one.  I got so angry with the 9 yard warp, that I simply cut it off the loom and started over from scratch.  The new warp is only 3 yards (about the same as I’ve used for my scarfs), so it should have been much more manageable.  WRONG!!

Almost everything I could have done wrong, or every bad thing that could have happened did.  The warp got twisted when I was chaining it.  I dropped the chain, which promptly came un-done.  Harley decided the loose thread from the cross tie was a toy, and snatched it off.  Once I got the reed and heddles threaded, I moved the beater and pulled all the threads through the reed.  DUH!!!

Luckily, I had decided that this project was not going to defeat me.  So I kept at it.  I fixed everything that needed to be fixed, re-sleyed the reed, and began weaving.  I’m so proud of myself.  I even found a hemstitching video, thanks to the wonderful weavers on Ravelry, and did a pretty fair job of hemstitching the beginning of the towels.

I got several inches done, and figured I should take a break for a little while and enjoy how it’s going so far.

Leave a Reply

