LAST COUPLE OF WEEKS

The last few weeks have been very eventful. Craft-wise, and entertainment wise.

I’ll start with the entertainment portion.

I am a huge fan of the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer. I enjoyed the movie version of Twilight and was waiting as patiently as I could for the second movie. I waited until Monday, November 23rd to go see it with two friends. All can I say is “OUTSTANDING”! They had to leave quite a bit from the book, out of the movie which is always a disappointment but understandable. But I have to say I was very impressed with the special effects, especially the wolfs. And now I’m on pins and needles to see the third movie: Eclipse.

On Black Friday, my good friend Amy and I went to The Spinning Loft for a book signing event for Abby Franquemont’s book Respect The Spindle. I got a signed copy of the book, which I starting reading as soon as I got home. I also got two new spindles and some fiber.
I even won a fantastic Abby batt in the store drawing.

The event was so inspiring that I pulled out my wheel and spindles and set about getting some serious spinning done. This is the gorgeous Pygora I collected over the last few weeks. This fiber had been on a bobbin so long, I don’t even know what it is or where I purchased it from. I think Harley approves.  I also finally finished the One Day Beret I started while on vacation back in October.  

I also had a major failure with my mom’s Christmas shawl.  I ran out of yarn about 10 inches from the end of the project.  I ordered what I thought was the same yarn and dye lot, only to discover it was a different weight and had a shine to it that was not in the original yarn.  I thought it wouldn’t be very noticeable, but I was very wrong.  

I decided to go in a completely different direction on my second attempt.  Black chenille is on the loom and ready to become a beautiful scarf.  

It’s time to get back to work so wish me luck!

One Response to “LAST COUPLE OF WEEKS”

  1. That abby batt is so pretty! You are very lucky!

Leave a Reply

