MY BLACK DIAMOND SHAWL

Trying to keep up with NaBloPoMo has been surprising easy for me. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m so excited about what I’ve been doing, or if it’s just making a conscious effort makes it easy. Wither way, I’m proud of myself so far.

I cut the Black Diamond Shawl I was weaving for my mother off the Ashford loom today. It came out really nice. And is about ready to come out of the bath, and be blocked and dried.

Despite the fact that it is beautiful, I don’t think this is going to be the present I give my mother this Christmas. It’s just not exactly what I had in mind for her. My mother lives in Arizona, and has said on several occasions that when she goes into restaurants and theaters she tends to be a little chilly, no matter what the temperature is outside. So I thought, a large, light weight shawl would be a great idea for her. My concern about if this is the right shawl for her rests on the fact that I don’t think it’s wide enough. When I warped it, I was hoping to end up over 10 inches wide. Unfortunately, it’s a little less than 9 inches, and it doesn’t have the feel I wanted it to have. Hopefully I can get it dried and get some pictures of it to share in the next day or two.

Here it is straight off the loom. DSC00576 Unfortunately, my bad lighting is not doing the pattern justice. I hope that a few outside shots will be better.

Now to decide what to warp next.

Tomorrow I’m taking the loom over to a good friends house. She wants to see how long, and how intense, the warping process is before she commits to a floor loom for herself. I can only hope she knows it’s going to be a really long day. Even though I’m going to choose a pattern, and maybe even warp the warping board tonight. We’ll have to see how she feels after we’re done tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

