LOOM WEAVING DAY ONE

I had always heard, and even experienced for myself with my Cricket loom, that the process of warping a loom takes more time than the actually weaving. And that was proven to me today, ten fold.

I have been so excited about getting my loom,I couldn’t wait to get started. I used some un-mercerized cotton thread that i had on hand for my card weaving, and got to work.

Here is the warp on the borrowed warping board.

DSC00097

My idea for how to keep the thread from tangling while I wound it on the warping board, and while I wound the bobbins.

DSC00098 DSC00099

The loom as I was warping it.

DSC00100 DSC00101 DSC00102 DSC00103

My first few inches don’t look too impressive. But I can see what the future will hold.

DSC00105 DSC00106 DSC00108 DSC00111 DSC00115 DSC00119

I realize that for the thread I chose I need a different reed. So until I can get my hands on one, I’ll need to get and work with some heavier threads.

I’m planning a project, that I hope to be ready to warp by next week.

That’s it for tonight! I’ll do some more weaving tomorrow.

One Response to “LOOM WEAVING DAY ONE”

  1. Depending how fine the thread you have is, you could put two in each slot, or two in one and one in the next. So if you have an 8epi reed (which seems standard) you can easily get 8, 12, and 16 ends per inch.

Leave a Reply

